Student dynamic map competition

Student Dynamic Map Winners

The North American Cartographic Information Society (NACIS) recognizes the importance of dynamic mapping in cartography. Each year, students enter submissions to the Student Dynamic Mapping Competition to compete for top awards during the annual meeting. View the past winners below!


Transit Lens

Individual category
by Lucas Smith

University of Southern California

Atlas of the Polar Regions

Group category
by Daniel Stephen, Jane E. Darbyshire, Samuel M. Hooper, Gareth Baldrica-Franklin, and Jennifer S. Bohannon

Oregon State University


Selections from the Atlas of Infectious Diseases

by James Eynard, Brooke Marston, Olivia Hollenhorst, Lucy Romeo

Oregon State University

Plan Oblique Europe

by Jonas Buddeberg, Johannes Liem

Oregon State University


50 Years of Change

Narrative category
by Rashauna Mead, Erin Hamilton, and Vanessa Wetzel

University of Wisconsin - Madison


Interactive category
by Caroline Rose, Chris Cantey, and Morgan Jarocki

University of Wisconsin - Madison


Wetland Gem Explorer

Narrative category
by Christopher Long, Madeline Emde, and Danielle Lee

A California Tragedy: The shocking story of the Donner-Reed Party

Interactive category
by Amy Lippus


The Rising Sun: Japanese Imperial Action, 1868-1941

Narrative category
by Zach Bodenner

University of Montana Campus Map

Interactive category
by Erik Samsoe